Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar CM, claims support of 160 MLAs to form the new Government.

Aug 09, 2022 08:00 pm

Janata Dal-United (JD-U)'s de-facto leader and Bihar’s CM Nitish Kumar submitted his resignation to governor Phagu Chauhan today in an ongoing political crisis between him and the BJP top brass.

He also submitted a support letter of 160 MLAs to stake claim to form a new government. "All MPs and MLAs are at a consensus that we should leave the NDA," Kumar reportedly told Chauhan while after submitting his resignation to the governor.

He then left for the residence of RDJ patriarch Lalu Yadav's wife Rabri Devi in Patna to hold talks with Tejashwi Yadav, who is likely to get the deputy chief minister's post in the new coalition government. As they get ready to form a new government together, Nitish Kumar, who resigned as Chief Minister of the current Bihar government, and Tejashwi Yadav, the 32-year-old Opposition leader, have worked out the broad contours of their understanding. Sources explained these as:

Nitish Kumar will be Chief Minister with Tejashwi Yadav as his Deputy

Before this, JD(U) parliamentary board president Upendra Kushwaha shared a congratulatory message for Kumar for "assuming leadership of a new coalition in a new form".

Hours ago, Rohini Yadav, Lalu Yadav's daughter, had shared a tweet confirming the renewal of ties of the two top veterans of Bihar's politics. “Get ready for the coronation, those with the lantern are set to return," Rohini Yadav tweeted along with a video amid a separate meeting of the Mahagathbandan MLAs.